A Pitcher of Peppermint Tea

This summer I re-discovered peppermint tea. Hours upon hours of driving this summer, it was the tonic that kept not only my body and my breath fresh, it seemed to keep my on my toes and focused.

I already carry a bottle of pure peppermint oil in the console of my vehicle for times when I drive late at night and need to wake up without using caffeine which sometimes keeps my awake when I finally do get home. Just a little sniff perks your senses right up without any after effects.

The tea was a natural extension.

Plus is was the cheapest thing to get at Starbucks in Ontario. $2.36 for a venti. Then I started making at and keeping it in the cooler. I would only have to get a cup of ice here and there. Perfect.

So I’m not quite sure what happens with peppermint tea and me, but if I wake up feeling a little squishy and well, two sizes bigger for some reason – two glasses of tea does the trick for me. So while scientific testing it’s not, there it is – it works for me. And it tastes good.

I looked up the nutritional benefits:

Mint Nutritional Content

100 grams of mint has:
Calories 48
Protein 4.8 g
Fat .06 g
Fiber 2 g
Calcium 200 mg
Iron 15.6 mg
Vitamin C 27 mg
Carbohydrates 5.8 mg

Mint contains good amounts of Vitamin A, C, B12, folic acid, thiamine and riboflavin, as well as, minerals such as, calcium, copper, fluoride, iron, manganese, phosphorus, potassium, selenium and zinc.

You would never eat 100 grams. Would you?

I mean, that’s alot of tea.

It comes with benefits too:

Mint Health Benefits

Mint brewed in tea or hot water has been a remedy for digestive problems and stomach cramps for centuries. Of course it is a natural breath freshener. It is also a natural diuretic and has been used to relieve IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome) and colitis. The oil may reduce and relieve the pain of hemorrhoids.

Its main oil contains menthol which is excellent for the sinuses when inhaled. The oil may also be used as a muscle rub. It is found in many over the counter products from antiseptics to sun burn relief to cough drops and nasal sprays.

Herbalists believe inhaling mint oil incense helps open the mind and calms the nerves. It has some antioxidant properties and can be used as an anti-itch relief for bug bites or other skin irritations.

Some believe that, due to its fluoride content, crushed dried mint leaves can whiten the teeth and remove tough organic stains like wine and coffee.

 – from the University of Illionois and this site.

I do make big pitchers of tea, and I drink 4 – 5 glasses of it a day. Iusually make it the easiest way possible:

1. Take 3 -4 good quality tea bags.

2. Put them in the largest mug you have. Pour hot water over them to the top.

3. Let brew for 7 – 10 minutes.

4. Pour tea into pitcher. Fit any remaining space in the pitcher with water.

5. Put the tea bags in the pitcher.

6. Chill, and done.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment